History of the Inn
The Narrow Gauge Inn was built in the 1950's as the Swiss Melody Inn by Swiss immigrants Rudy and Luce Stauffer. They also restored and operated the Yosemite Mountain Sugar pine Railroad, which is located next door to the Inn. Eventually, Rudy and Luce sold the Inn, however their son Max still operates the Railroad and Luce can often be found helping out during the summer months.
The Inn has gone through several changes of ownership, each adding their own personal touch. The name was changed to The Narrow Gauge Inn by one of the owners, George Cordingly to honor the nearby railroad. George also did extensive remodeling to the restaurant, enhancing the lodge feel to the dining room and bringing fine dining to the area.
In 2000 the Inn was purchased by three siblings, Martha VanAmen, Steve and Doug Parmentier. Again, when first arriving to the Inn they all felt at home and welcomed, something all friends and travelers feel when arriving. The Family, with experience in hospitality and business, enhanced the Inn and restaurant by upgrading rooms and creating a garden that has become well known with travelers from all over.